thebeespaceawardEach year Franklin County Beekeepers Association presents the “Bee Spaces" Garden Awards. “Bee space” is the precise gap within a hive or natural nest that bees create so that they can freely move about.

FCBA judges and awards local gardens that meet the criteria of supporting pollinator health, including no pesticides or toxins, and planting of bee-foraging flowers and pollinating plants in the local landscape. The award is a custom plaque designed by artist Molly Cantor and framed by beekeeper John Piepul who both reside in Shelburne Falls. Applications for entry in the Bee Spaces Garden Awards are accepted throughout the year by the Franklin County Beekeeper’s Association.

Past Bee Spaces Garden Award Winners

Bee Space AwardEx-Governor Duval Patrick awarding Laughing Dog Farm of Gill the 2017 Bee Spaces Award2020: John Zon Community Center, Greenfield
2020: David and Amy Moscaritolo, Greenfield
2019: Ann Reiss, South Deerfield
2019: Dr. Ilana Schmitt, Sunderland
2019: The Greenfield Energy Park, Greenfield
2018: Pat Leuchtman, Greenfield
2018: Margaret Dow Bridges, Montague Center
2017: Erving Elementary School, Erving
2017: Laughing Dog Farm Danny Botkin, Gill
2017: Shelburne Falls Bridge of Flowers
2017: Dr. Stephen Herbert UMass Agricultural Learning Center 






Bee Space Garden Award Application